Hi Tech vs old school

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hi Tech vs old school

Do you prefer the modern techy stuff or the old school stuff? That is a question that I ask myself almost daily. No I'm not tech savvy and I don't keep up with all the modern conveniences, but I do appreciate some of the new inventions. For instance the SmartPhone. You can unlock your door from work if you need to. You can buy things, get things answered immediately, get food delivered, make payments, post checks to your account, and do so many things with a touch of a button. And the new auto's are almost robotic. They can think faster than you and stop on a dime, they can have eyes in the back of their head when you can't see back there, they can stop car theft by stopping, Oh wait that's OnStar, but you get the picture. It's marvelous and exciting for all those who prefer the bells and whistles, but I've never been that person.

One thing that does concern me is that I'm afraid they will do away with paper forms completely in the future and everything will be electronically handled. What will the elder generation do if they don't have access to a computer?

After reading those books by Ken Follet it opened my mind to the way things are repeated through the centuries, like WWI, and WWII, the mistakes that were made to cost millions of people their lives, the waste, the devastation, and the human cruelty. I pray that that never happens again.

I do think it's wonderful that we, as a nation are exploring space, but by the same token I'm overwhelmed about the number of people on this earth who cannot function without a cell phone in their hands all day long. So I have mixed feelings about the way technology is moving us into the next century, but at the same time it scares me. I know my tired brain cannot keep abreast of the tech world and I'm not even going to berate myself about it, but I will be forced to keep up with it at a moderate level no matter what.